What is Parent Mentoring?

Have you ever asked for help with a parenting issue from an ‘expert’ only to find their solution doesn’t work for your child?

Have you ever read a baby book and wondered why your baby doesn’t do what the book says?

This is because you are unique, your family is unique and your child is unique.  You know your child best and you are best placed to say what will work for your family.

There is no one size fits all approach, no magic wand (more’s the pity) and no quick fix when it comes to parenting.

In short, mentoring is NOT about giving you the solution it is about empowering you to identify the right solution for your family and then to implement it.

I do not pretend to know it all, in fact if I ever get to that belief I will get out of the parent mentoring business.  I am only a parenting ‘expert’ when it comes to my own family and what works for them.  Sometimes even there I flounder as what worked for my daughter doesn’t always work for my son.

So, here you are looking for answers and I’ve just admitted I don’t know the final solution to your problem, I struggle myself and I am not a perfect mum, by any stretch of the imagination.  So why come to me for help?

Firstly, we draw a line in the sand.  We examine what you have done in the past to overcome the issue and what outcomes you got as a result of those attempts.

Once we have reviewed the past I will work with you on identifying a number of solutions you feel comfortable implementing.  We create a plan of action to address the issue you are facing with not one, not two but at least three possible solutions you are happy initiating.

Do I have a set of solutions that I suggest for everyone?  Well yes I do.  I have done my research and trialled the techniques I suggest as a first port of call.  They work for my family but will they suit your family? Maybe, maybe not and if not then we will identify something that does.

Finally I will work with you on the emotions, the frustrations and the guilt that arise as a result of the issue and what comes up for you while you are implementing the solutions you decide on.

But parent mentoring is not just about solving issues, its about empowering you to be able to solve them on your own in the future.  Its about taking the initiative to create the family you want.  Its about creating the relationships you want to have with your children and it’s investing in yourself to become the best parent you can be and provide the best start in life for your family.

It is soooooo much more than that, it is working through your own emotions, doubts and uncertainty to enable the parenting years to follow smoothly from now.Mother comforting her child

So, if you have an issue you are struggling with, or if you are unhappy with the relationships you have with you children and want to make changes to your parenting, or are just feeling stuck in a parenting rut then head to the website and apply for a FREE 30 minute consultation to see if I am the right mentor for you.

While you do that, remember that you CAN get through this!  This will pass and most importantly, no matter how you feel right now, you are a GREAT parent!

Leave a comment